Hey! Looks like you're offline. We've made sure you can still read some of our articles!

Private listening

Anyone who follows you on Spotify can see what you’re listening to in real time, unless you turn on a Private Session.

Pick a device below to learn how to draw the curtains.

Note: Anything you play privately isn’t visible to the public, but can still factor into the personalized mixes we make for you.

  1. Click  in the top right corner of the app.
  2. Select Private Session. Your picture changes to show the private session is active.

The Private Session ends when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Tap Your Library  in the menu at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Tap Settings .
  3. Select Social.
  4. Switch Private Session on.

The Private Session ends when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Tap Your Library  in the menu at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Tap Settings .
  3. Select Social.
  4. Switch Private Session on.

The Private Session ends when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Tap Your Library  in the menu at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Select Settings .
  3. Under Social, switch Private Session on.

The Private Session ends when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.