Hey! Looks like you're offline. We've made sure you can still read some of our articles!

Privacy settings

Spotify is a great way to share your love of music with people all over the world, but sometimes you may want to keep your activity backstage. This guide will help you take control of your privacy.

Hide your Spotify activity 

For: Desktop

Anyone can follow you on Spotify, but they don’t have to see your activity if you don’t want them to.

  1. Open the Spotify desktop app.
  2. In the top-right corner, click , then Settings.
  3. Under Social, click any switch to adjust the setting:
    • Automatically make new playlists public 
      Switch this OFF (gray) to keep all new playlists hidden from other Spotifiers.
    • Private session
      Switch this ON (green) to temporarily hide your listening from the Friend Feed. 
    • Publish my activity on Spotify
      Switch this OFF (gray) to never show your listen history. 
    • Show my current Top Artists
      Switch this OFF (gray) to hide the round-up of the artists you listen to most from your profile page.

Hide specific playlists

You can choose which playlists you want to visible to others. 

On the desktop app or webplayer, just right-click your playlist and choose Make Secret.

On mobile and tablet, tap  (iOS), or  (Android) next to your playlist and choose Make Secret.

What am I not able to hide?    

Your profile page is always visible to other Spotify members, even if they don’t follow you. This includes your username, profile picture, public playlists, recently played artists, who you follow, and your followers.