Purchasing audiobook listening time
Some Premium plans include monthly listening time from the audiobooks subscriber catalog (see table below).
To get more audiobook listening time, you can:
- Subscribe to Audiobooks+
- Purchase a one-time top-up
Note: Family and Duo plan members must request audiobook listening time from their plan manager via the “Audiobooks+ for Plan Members” add-on or via a top-up.
| Payment | Plan eligibility | Hours expiry |
|---|---|---|---|
Plan hours | Monthly (included in Premium) |
| Resets monthly. Used first. |
Audiobooks+ | Monthly |
| Resets monthly. Used after plan hours run out. |
Audiobooks+ for Plan members | Monthly |
| Resets monthly. |
Top-up | One-time |
| Valid for 12 months from purchase. Used after plan hours and Audiobooks+ hours run out. |
Audiobooks+
Audiobooks+ is a recurring subscription that gives you audiobook listening hours each month.
It's available as an Add-on to your monthly bill, or as a standalone plan for Spotify free users.
Check out Audiobooks+ for more information on how to subscribe, manage, and cancel this subscription.
Audiobook top-ups
Top-ups are one-time purchases and provide extra audiobook listening hours. They’re valid for 12 months from the purchase date, and you can add more than one at a time.
Top-ups are used only when your monthly plan and Audiobooks+ add-on hours run out.
You can purchase top-ups with a credit/debit card, PayPal, or through Google Play Billing.
- Go to Audiobook listening time.
- Under Top-ups, select Top up.
For more information on our refund policy, you can check our Refund policy for purchased audiobook listening hours. Other Terms and Conditions apply.
Notes:
- You must have an eligible Premium plan to use your top-up hours
- If you cancel your subscription, you’ll no longer have access to your top-up hours unless you resubscribe within 12 months of purchasing the top-up
- Your top-up hours will still be subject to their original expiration date
For: Plan managers
- Go to Manage members.
- Scroll to Plan members, and select the member(s) you want to give top-ups to.
- Under Manage audiobook listening, select Purchase.
Note: If a member leaves their Family or Duo plan, they’ll lose access to any purchased top-ups. They can use top-ups again if they rejoin the plan or start an eligible subscription. Top-ups will still be subject to their original expiration date.
For: Plan members
Only the manager of Premium Family or Duo can purchase top-ups for plan members, but plan members can request it through the app or their account page.
For each request, your plan manager receives an email and an in-app notification.
Mobile
- Tap your profile picture.
- Tap Your Premium.
- Select Audiobook listening time.
- Tap Request hours.
Web
- Go to Audiobook listening time.
- Select Request hours.
Managing your audiobook listening time
Note: There might be some delays in tracking the audiobook listening time you’ve used if you pause your listening mid-chapter, or you’re offline for an extended period of time.
Mobile
- Tap your profile picture.
- Tap Settings and privacy.
- Go to Account and tap the name of your plan. This shows you the plan overview.
- Tap Audiobook listening time.
Web
Go to Audiobook listening time.
Your plan hours are used first, followed by Audiobooks+ Add-on hours, then top-ups.
- Each billing cycle, your plan and add-on hours reset.
- Unused top-ups carry over until their expiry date (12 months from purchase).
When your monthly audiobook listening time refreshes:
- Your audiobook listening consumption will revert to being drawn from the new listening time allotted to you; and
- Any unused top-up hours will continue to be available when your plan’s audiobook listening time is used up.
You won't be able to listen to audiobooks from the subscriber catalog until you replenish your listening time.
If you run out mid-chapter, we’ll let you know. Your progress in the audiobook is saved, so you can pick up where you left off once you have more listening time.
Canceling audiobook listening hours
You can cancel at any time.
- If you cancel your Premium subscription: You'll lose access to any purchased add-ons and any unused top-up hours.
- If you cancel Audiobooks+: You'll lose access to the Audiobooks+ listening hours when your subscription ends, but keep any other listening time you have.
- If you cancel a top-up: If you resubscribe within 12 months of purchasing a top-up, your remaining top-up hours become available again (still subject to their original expiration date).
- If a plan member leaves Family or Duo: The member loses access to any add-ons and top-ups purchased for them. Top-ups can be used again if they rejoin the plan or start an eligible subscription (still subject to the original expiration date).
Related Articles
- Changing how you log into Spotify
- Can’t log in to Spotify
- Spotify login methods
- How to reset or change your Spotify password
- Logging in to Spotify with Facebook
- Logging in to Spotify with Apple
- Logging in to Spotify with Google
- Logging in to Spotify with your phone number
- Logging in to Spotify with Samsung
- Can’t play abroad
- Spotify disabled accounts
- How to log out of Spotify