Managing a membership
Manage your membership tiers, episodes, prices, trials, and settings.
Are you a member? Learn how to manage your membership to a show
Managing member episodes
You can make new and existing episodes member-only from each episode's Episode options page.
To mark a new episode member-only:
- Upload your episode.
- On the Monetize step, select who your episode is for.
- If you offer multiple membership tiers, choose the tiers that get access.
- Select a member benefit.
- Finish publishing your episode.
To change an existing episode's access, benefit, or Synced Feeds pairing:
- Go to Episodes and select the episode.
- On the Episode options page, click Monetize.
- In the Memberships section, click Edit.
- To adjust episode access: choose the membership tiers that get access, or make the episode available to everyone.
- To edit the episode benefit: choose the correct benefit.
- To edit an episode pairing in Synced Feeds: remove or change the paired episode.
- Click Save.
Changing membership prices and tiers
It’s possible to change the price of your membership, but if you have existing members, we encourage you to think through how your change will impact them.
To change your membership tiers or prices:
- Go to Memberships.
- Find the tier you’d like to edit and click
.
- On the Edit tier screen, enter your new price for the tier you selected.
- If you don’t have any existing members, confirm your price change and adjust your benefits if needed, then click Save. You can change your price as often as you like if you don’t have any members.
- If you have existing members, you need to make some choices about how you’d like your changes to affect them (more below). You can only change your tier prices once every 180 days if you have members. If you offer multiple tiers, it is not currently possible to change the price for any tier with active members.
If you’ve selected a lower price:
Any existing members will be charged at the new lower price on their next billing date. They’ll receive an email notifying them of this change.
Your membership pages in Spotify update immediately, and all new members will pay your new membership tier prices.
Confirm your price change and you’re all set.
If you’ve selected a higher price:
You will need to choose whether or not you want to apply higher membership tier prices to your existing members.
- If you allow existing members to continue paying the original price on a tier: Any existing members will continue to be charged at the original price of their tier they’re a part of moving forward, and they won’t be sent an email because your change will not affect their pricing. Your changes update immediately on Spotify, and all new members of that tier will pay your new, higher price. Confirm your price change and you’re all set.
- If you want to ask existing members to pay the new, higher price on a tier: Any existing members to that tier will be sent an email notifying them of the price change and will have a 30-day window to take action before the new higher price goes into effect (described below). Your show on Spotify updates immediately, and all new members will pay your new, higher price on that tier. Confirm your price change and you’re all set.
- Members in the U.S. (except in NY) will have 30 days to cancel their membership or change their membership tier (if available) if they don’t agree to the new price of the tier they’re a member of. Otherwise, they’ll be charged the new higher price for that tier automatically on their next billing date after the 30-day window.
- Members outside of the U.S. (and in U.S. - NY) will have 30 days to opt-in to the new price of their membership tier. If they don’t opt in during the 30-day window, they’ll continue to have access to member-only episodes and any benefits they have under their tier until the end of their billing cycle, but after that, their membership will be automatically canceled.
Legacy pricing or tiers
If you’ve changed your tiers or prices of your tiers and now have different groups of legacy tiers or prices, you can view and manage those groups and their pricing separately in the Members tab of the Memberships page.
You can maintain up to 3 prices with active members at a time per tier.
Deleting a tier
If you’d like to remove a membership tier entirely:
- Go to Memberships.
- Find the tier you’d like to remove and click
.
- On the Edit tier screen, click Delete.
You can't delete a tier that has active members. We're looking to make this an option in the future
Free trials
Let Spotify Premium listeners try your membership free for 7 days.
Free trials can be toggled on or off at any time.
To enable or disable free trials:
- Go to Memberships and select Manage.
- Scroll to Additional settings.
- Toggle 7 day free trial on or off.
Welcome clips
You can offer new members a personalized welcome clip after they’ve signed up for your membership:
- Go to Memberships and select Manage.
- Scroll to Thank your new members and click Upload clip.
- Upload your file and choose your settings under Content checks.
- Click Save.
Benefits
With your membership, you can offer your members a number of different benefits and enable them on different tiers to differentiate your offering.
Benefit | What you’re offering |
|---|---|
Fewer ads | Fewer ads for members |
Bonus episodes | Episodes available only to eligible members |
Video episodes | Member-only video episodes |
Extended episodes | Longer versions of episodes |
Full length episodes | Full episodes for members and previews for non-members |
Early access episodes | Episodes available to members before everyone else |
Other | A benefit you provide outside of Spotify |
You can change your benefits at any time for any tier.
Automatically remove ads
If you earn from ads, you can offer eligible members fewer Spotify-inserted ads.
Selecting Fewer ads as a membership benefit allows your fans to hear all your episodes without any Spotify for Creators-inserted ads on Spotify. Publish once to everyone, include your ad cue points, and we’ll automatically remove Spotify for Creators-inserted ads for your members. Sponsorships will not be removed.
Disabling a membership
- Go to Memberships and select Manage.
- Scroll to Additional settings.
- Click Disable next to Disable membership.
All members will continue to have access to member-only content and any benefits they have under their tier until the end of their billing cycle, but after that, their membership will end.
You are obligated to continue providing members access to member-only content for 30 days after you choose to disable your offering.
Related Articles
- Distributing your show to other platforms
- Getting your show on Spotify
- Changing episode order
- Submitting your show to Apple Podcasts
- Submitting your show to Amazon Music
- Submitting your show to Castbox
- Submitting your show to Goodpods
- Submitting your show to iHeartRadio
- Submitting your show to Overcast
- Submitting your show to Pocket Casts
- Submitting your show to RadioPublic
- Analytics glossary
- Understanding Overview analytics
- Understanding Audience analytics
- Understanding Discovery analytics
- Understanding Engagement analytics
- Podcast charts on Spotify
- Episode analytics
- Video analytics
- Link sharing and referral data in Spotify for Creators
- Understanding your Spotify Partner Program analytics
- Membership analytics
- Downloading your show's analytics data
- Data changes after switching to Spotify for Creators
- Switching your show's hosting to Spotify for Creators
- Importing your episodes from another host
- Trouble switching your show's hosting to Spotify for Creators
- Redirecting from Audioboom
- Redirecting from Blubrry
- Redirecting from Buzzsprout
- Redirecting from Castbox
- Redirecting from iVoox
- Redirecting from Libsyn
- Redirecting from Megaphone
- Redirecting from Podbean
- Redirecting from Podomatic
- Redirecting from Simplecast
- Redirecting from SoundCloud
- Redirecting from Spreaker
- Redirecting from Squarespace
- Redirecting from Transistor