Hey! Looks like you're offline. We've made sure you can still read some of our articles!

Premium for Family

With Premium for Family, you and up to 5 members of the same household can each enjoy their own Premium account. All for one discounted price.

Get started

You can either own, manage, and pay for a Premium for Family plan, or join someone else’s plan.

Everyone on the plan must:

  • Reside at the same address.
  • Meet the minimum age and all other requirements in our Terms and Conditions.

If you start a Premium for Family plan, you’ll be the plan's owner and are responsible for:

  • The plan's monthly payment.
  • Inviting or removing members on the plan.

Go to our Premium for Family page to sign up!

Here are a few things to keep in mind:

  • It’s not possible to purchase Premium for Family with a gift card .
  • You can’t combine it with any trials, or offers such as the student discount.
  • If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider), you need to cancel your subscription with them to upgrade to Premium for Family.

To join an existing Premium for Family plan, you need to reside at the same physical address as the plan’s owner (the person who subscribed to the plan). 

All members have their own personal Premium account (so you don’t need to worry about asking the plan’s owner for their username and password). 

If you don't have an account yet, you’re given the option to create one as you join. If you do, and already have Premium, future payments switch to the plan owner (and any Premium time remaining from previous payments will resume when you leave the family plan). 

Note: If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through a third party, e.g. your mobile provider, you need to cancel your subscription with them to join Premium for Family.

  1. Have the owner invite you to their plan.
  2. You'll receive an email with a link to join. Open and click ACCEPT INVITATION. You're redirected to your account page, where you'll see a confirmation screen.
    Note: If you're not already logged in or don't have an account yet, you'll be asked to log in or sign up before seeing the confirmation.
  3. Enter your details and click SUBMIT to join the Premium for Family plan.

Here are a few things to keep in mind:

  • You can only switch from one Family plan to another once every 12 months.
  • You can’t combine it with any trials, or offers such as the student discount.
  • If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider), you need to cancel your subscription with them to upgrade to Premium for Family.

Manage your Premium for Family plan

Members and plan details can be managed by the plan owner (the person who subscribed to the plan), from their account page.

Note: Only the plan owner (the person who subscribed to the plan) can manage members on the plan.

Invite a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Click Premium for Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Click SEND INVITE.
  4. Enter the email address of the person you want to invite and click SEND INVITE. A confirmation email will be sent to you when they accept the invite and are added to the plan.

If the person accepting the invite is doing so on the same device it was sent from, make sure the owner who sent the invite has logged out of their account page first.

Note: The owner and all members of a Premium for Family plan must reside at the same address.

Remove a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Click Premium for Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Select the member you want to remove. Click REMOVE.

Tip: You get a total of 6 Premium accounts all under one low price, so we recommend keeping all your slots filled to get the best value for money!

It's not possible to change the owner of your Premium for Family plan. The current owner would first need to cancel. Then, when all accounts revert to the free, ad-supported service at the next billing date, a new owner can start a new plan.

It’s not possible to change the address registered on an existing Premium for Family plan.

If you move, or enter the wrong details, you need to create a new account (make sure you cancel the plan on your old account beforehand, and sign out everywhere) and subscribe to Premium for Family on that new account.

Cancel a Premium for Family plan

If you're the owner of a Premium for Family plan, you can cancel any time. All members of your Premium for Family plan (including you) will revert back to the free, ad-supported service at the end of your current billing cycle.

Note: You can choose to downgrade to standard Premium on your subscription page, meaning all members will revert to the free, ad-supported service except for you. You will be charged the standard Premium rate at your next billing date.

Leave a Premium for Family plan

If you're a member of a Premium for Family plan, and want to leave, you need to ask the plan owner to remove you.

Note: You can only switch from one Premium for Family plan to another once every 12 months. If you hit this yearly limit, you're not able to switch to another Premium for Family plan at this time.

Need help?

Each member of a Premium for Family plan has their own personal account - so you can use your existing account. All of your account details will remain the same, including any saved music, playlists, and followers.

If you’re already subscribed to Premium when accepting an invite, all subsequent payments on your account are made by the plan owner.

Note: If you subscribed to Premium through another company (e.g. your mobile/broadband provider or iTunes), you need to cancel your subscription with them before starting or joining a Family plan.

Here are some things to check first:

  • If you’re accepting the invite on the same device it was sent from, make sure the owner who sent the invite has logged out of their account page first.
  • If you didn’t receive an email with the link, be sure to check your junk/spam folders.

Still not working? Try resending the invite:

Note: Only plan owners can send invites. If you’re trying to join a plan, you need to ask the owner to complete these steps.

  1. Go to your Premium for Family account page and select the member you want to re-invite.
  2. Click RESEND INVITE.
  3. If that doesn’t work, click CANCEL INVITE and re-invite the member by clicking SEND INVITE, and re-entering their details.

Here’s how billing for Premium for Family works:

  • We only charge the owner (the person who signed up to the plan), never the members. 
  • We charge the owner the full amount, regardless of the number of members who join the plan.
  • The monthly billing date will be on or around the same date the owner first subscribed.

If you start a Premium for Family plan as the owner, but you already have Premium, your payment date will likely be a few days earlier than it had been. This is because of the difference between the price of Premium for Family and the regular Premium subscription you were on.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

All members of a Premium for Family plan must reside at the same physical address.

If we’re unable to verify the members of a Premium for Family plan, they are removed from the plan.

If this happens, you may restore your Premium features by upgrading to a standalone Premium subscription. Check out our other trials and offers.