Premium Family

Note: Premium Family is changing! If you already manage a Family plan, you’ll receive an email over the next few weeks when your plan’s upgraded. For more info, check out Changes to Premium Family.


 
Premium Family is the subscription plan for up to 6 people living together. 6 Premium accounts, for one discounted price.

You get exclusive access to Family Mix! A playlist based on the tastes of everyone on your plan so the whole family can listen together. Plus, you have parental control of explicit content for the members of your plan.

Get started

You can start a Premium Family plan and add family members to it, or you can join someone else’s plan. 

Each member has their own individual Premium account, so there’s no need to share login details. 

All members of a Premium Family plan must reside at the same address.

Note: It’s not possible to purchase Premium Family with a gift card, or combine it with offers such as the student discount.

If you start a Premium Family plan, you’ll be the plan manager and are responsible for:

  • The plan's monthly payment.
  • Setting the address where everyone lives.
  • Inviting members to the plan.
  • Managing parental controls of member accounts.

Go to the Premium Family page to sign up!

Some things to keep in mind:

  • You can add up to 5 other people to your Premium Family.
  • If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider), you need to cancel your subscription with them before signing up for Premium Family.

To join a Premium Family plan, you need to reside at the same address as the plan’s manager (the person who started the plan).

Join a Family plan

Note: If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your internet/mobile provider), you first need to cancel your subscription with them.

  1. Have the manager add you to their plan.
  2. You'll receive a link to join. Open it and select ACCEPT INVITE.
  3. Select LOG IN if you already have an account, or SIGN UP if you’re new to Spotify.
  4. We’ll ask to confirm your location to check that you live at the same address as the plan’s manager. 
    Note: We don’t track your location, we only check your address at this moment. If you’re having trouble finding your address, check out the FAQ at the bottom of this page.

Manage your Premium Family plan

Members and plan details can be managed by the plan manager (the person who started the plan), from their account page, on the Premium Family tab.

The plan manager can add or remove family members and control who can hear explicit content on Spotify.

Note: Only the plan manager (the person who started the plan) can manage members on the plan.

Add a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Select Premium Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Click ADD TO FAMILY PLAN.
  4. Click Invite to Premium.
  5. Either select COPY LINK and pass it onto the person you’d like to invite, or choose an option to share with your preferred messaging service.
    Note: If the person is accepting the invite on the same device you sent it from, make sure you’ve logged out of your account page first.

Remove a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. In the Premium Family tab, click the member you want to remove.
  3. Click REMOVE FROM PLAN.
  4. Confirm you want to remove this member. 

It's not possible to change the manager of your Premium Family plan. The current manager would first need to cancel the plan. Then, when all accounts revert to free at the next billing date, a new manager can start a new plan.

If you move, or the wrong details were entered at signup, the manager of the plan needs to change the address:

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Select Premium Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Under Your address, click CHANGE ADDRESS.
  4. Existing members may be asked to confirm the new address to continue using the plan.

To cancel or leave a Premium Family plan:

  1. Log in to your subscription page
  2. Select CHANGE OR CANCEL.
  3. Here you can either choose to switch to another type of paid subscription such as standard Premium or Premium for Students, or return to the free Spotify service.

Note: If you’re the plan manager and switch to another type of Premium or Spotify free, all other member accounts will revert to free at the end of your current billing cycle. If you’re not the manager, any changes you make will only affect your account.

FAQ

You can manually enter the address intended for the plan during sign up. Be sure to double check it’s correct so the people you invite can confirm they live there too. 

Can’t find it?

If you can’t find a specific address, enter the nearest address that can be located. For example, if you can’t find your apartment number you could select the building, or a close landmark.

The people you invite should use that exact same address to join, so make sure you tell them what you entered.
 

If you’re physically at the address intended for the plan, you can use your device’s location services to confirm your address.

If you’re not at home, or don’t want to allow access to your location services, you can enter the address manually.

Note: We don’t track your location. We only check your address at the moment you try to join.

Address doesn’t match?

Ask the person who invited you to double-check the address they entered. You’ll need to use that exact address to join Family.

Location services not working?

It’s best to try on a mobile device, or you can try a different web browser. If you’re on mobile, try to refresh the page, open a new browser, or come back in a day.

If it’s still not working, here are some things to check:

  • Use WiFi rather than a data connection.
  • Make sure you’re connected to your local network (not a VPN or proxy server). 

Location service settings vary between devices and browsers. Some are triggered to switch on when you agree, while others need to be manually switched on. If you need further help, check the support pages for your device or browser:

We only charge the manager (the person who subscribed to the plan), never the invited member. 

We charge the manager the full amount, regardless of if another member joins the plan.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

The Premium Family plan manager can choose to allow or block content on Spotify marked as explicit for each member of the plan. To block explicit content for a plan member:

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Select Premium Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Click on the member you’d like to stop hearing explicit content.
  4. Switch Allow explicit content off (gray).

Note: Content we identify as explicit is based on information we receive from rights-holders, so it’s possible some explicit content will still play even if you’ve blocked it.

See more info about explicit content.

Yes! You can use an existing account to join Premium Family. All its details will remain the same and your own, including saved music and playlists. Other members of the plan will also use their own personal account for the plan.

What if I already have Premium?

If you’re managing a Family plan, your payment date will likely be a few days earlier than usual. This is because of the price difference between Premium Family and standard Premium.

If you’re joining a Family plan, all subsequent payments on your account are made by the plan manager. Any remaining Premium time you’ve already paid for will be forfeited. There are no refunds available for changing from your current Premium plan.

Whether you’re managing or joining Family, if you’re already subscribed to Premium through another company (e.g. your mobile/internet provider or iTunes), you first need to cancel your subscription with them.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

The invite link may have expired. Ask the manager of the plan to send you a new link from their account page, on the Premium Family tab.

If you’re joining Family on the same device the plan manager used to invite you, make sure they’ve logged out of their account page first.

Still not working? Try opening the link in an incognito/private window of your web browser.

Last updated: 21 August, 2019