Hey! Looks like you're offline. We've made sure you can still read some of our articles!

Premium for Family

With Premium for Family, you and up to 5 members of the same household can each enjoy their own Premium account. All for one discounted price.

Note: Premium for Family is exempt from promotional offers and non-recurring payment options such as gift cards.

If you start a Premium for Family plan, you’ll be the plan's owner and are responsible for:

  • The plan's monthly payment. 
  • Inviting or removing members on the plan.

Go to our Premium for Family page to sign up!

Note: If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider or iTunes), you need to cancel your subscription with them to upgrade to Premium for Family.

Note: Only the plan owner (the person who subscribed to the plan) can manage the plan. 

Invite a member

  1. Go to your account page
  2. Click Premium for Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Click SEND INVITE.
  4. Enter the email address of the person you want to invite and click SEND INVITE. A confirmation email will be sent to you when they accept the invite and are added to the plan.

If the person accepting the invite is doing so on the same device it was sent from, make sure the owner who sent the invite has logged out of their account page first.

Note: The owner and all members of a Premium for Family plan must reside at the same address.

Remove a member

  1. Go to your account page
  2. Click Premium for Family in the menu on the left.
  3. Select the member you want to remove. Click REMOVE.

Tip: You get a total of 6 Premium accounts all under one low price, so we recommend keeping all your slots filled to get the best value for money! 

Change the owner

To change the owner of your Premium for Family plan, the current owner first needs to cancel. When the remaining Premium time runs out and all accounts revert to Free, the new owner can resubscribe. They're then responsible for the plan's monthly payment, and inviting or removing members from the plan. 

Members of a Premium for Family plan: 

  • Enjoy all the benefits of Premium without the cost.
  • Retain any saved music, playlists, and followers if they already have an account. 

Join a Premium for Family plan

To join an existing Premium for Family plan, you need to be invited by the plan's owner (the person who subscribed to the plan). 

To accept an invitation:

  1. Open the link you received and click ACCEPT INVITATION
  2. You’re redirected to a new browser that contains a pre-filled token. Click REDEEM

Note: If you're already subscribed to Spotify Premium through your broadband provider or other services (e.g. iTunes), you need to cancel your subscription with them to join Premium for Family.

FAQs

Anyone can start or join a Premium for Family plan, as long as everyone on the plan:

  • Resides at the same address.
  • Meets the minimum age and all other requirements in our Terms and Conditions.

Note: You can only switch from one Family plan to another once every 12 months.

What if I already have an account?

You can start or join a Premium for Family plan with an existing account. All of your account details will remain the same, including any saved music, playlists, and followers!

If you’re already subscribed to Premium when accepting an invite, all subsequent payments on your account are made by the plan owner.

Note: If you subscribed to Premium through another company (e.g. your mobile/broadband provider or iTunes), you need to cancel your subscription with them before starting or joining a Family plan.

Unfortunately not. You can't apply additional discounts to a Premium for Family plan.

Yep! All of your account details remain the same, including any saved music, playlists, and followers. Each member gets to keep their own individual account to play and save their own music.

Only the owner of the Premium for Family plan will be charged. The monthly billing date will be on or around the same date you first subscribed. We never charge the other members.

Please be aware that, if you upgrade your subscription from regular Premium to Premium for Family, your payment date will likely be a few days earlier than it had been. This is because of the difference between the price of Premium for Family and the regular Premium subscription you were on. You can track all this on your subscription page

Note: The owner will be charged the full Premium for Family rate, regardless of the number of members. 

It’s not possible to change the address registered on an existing Premium for Family plan. 

If you move, or enter the wrong details, you need to create a new account (make sure you sign out everywhere and cancel the plan on your old account beforehand) and subscribe to Premium for Family on that account.

Cancel a Premium for Family plan 

If you're the owner of a Premium for Family plan, you can cancel any time. All members of your Premium for Family plan (including you) will revert back to the Free service at the end of your current billing cycle.

Note: You can choose to downgrade to standard Premium on your subscription page, meaning all members will revert to Free except for you. You'll then be charged the standard Premium rate at your next billing date. 

Leave a Premium for Family plan 

If you're a member of a Premium for Family plan, and want to leave, you need to ask the plan owner to remove you. 

Note: You can only switch from one Premium for Family plan to another once every 12 months. If you hit this yearly limit, you're not able to switch to another Premium for Family plan at this time. 

 

All members of a Premium for Family plan must reside at the same physical address. 

If we’re unable to verify the members of a Premium for Family plan, they are removed from the plan. 

If this happens, you may restore your Premium features by upgrading to a standalone Premium subscription. Check out our other trials and offers