Your info, payment and privacy all in one place.
Playlist privacy and access
There are two ways to control your playlists' visibility:
- Make playlists public or private.
- Manage public playlists published to your Spotify profile.
Make playlists public or private
All new playlists you create are public by default. When you make a playlist private, nobody can access it, even if they have a link to it or search for it by name.
To make a playlist private:
- Tap or click / at the top of the playlist.
- Select Make private.
Tip: To make your private playlists public again, select Make public instead.
Share your playlists with a select group of people
If you want to keep your playlists private, but still want to share them with friends or family, you can:
- Share a link from the app to give people view access. You'll see their profile image at the top of the playlist next to yours, and you can manage who gets what level of access.
Note: Shared links will expire after 7 days.
- Make a playlist collaborative. Learn how.
Playlists published to your Spotify profile
Only public playlists are published to your Spotify profile, and all new playlists are published by default.
You can change this preference from the desktop app:
- Click your profile picture at the top, and select Settings.
- Under Social, toggle Publish my new playlists on my profile on/off .
Note: If a playlist is published to your profile and you make it private, it will no longer show up for other users. Check out Playlist publishing to learn more.
Was this article helpful?