How can we help you?
Account & Payment
We charge each Premium plan once per month.
If a charge doesn’t look right, check its status on your statement.
Is the charge pending?
When you submit a payment, your bank puts the funds aside as ‘pending’. If the payment fails, the pending status will expire and the funds will be returned to you.
Your bank can provide more info about pending charges.
Is the charge for an authorization check?
If you sign up for a free trial or update your payment method, you may see a temporary charge to confirm the payment works (an ‘authorization’ charge). This will shortly expire, and the funds will be returned to you.
Your bank can provide more info about authorization charges.
If you see multiple charges and they’re not pending or to check the payment is valid, you could have more than one Premium account.
Follow these ways to find other accounts.
If you find another Premium account, follow these steps to cancel.
If you can’t access an account, get in touch here by choosing Subscription > Other > I STILL NEED HELP.
Our free trials are for people who’ve never had Premium before.
If you've already had Premium, you're charged the standard rate when you sign up (even if you were shown the offer). This is because your eligibility is confirmed at login and payment.
If you can’t remember having Premium, check out your receipts page or search your email inboxes for any previous emails from us.
Never had Premium?
If you’re eligible for the trial, you may see a temporary charge to confirm the payment is valid (an ‘authorization’ check).
This will shortly expire, and any funds held will be returned to you. Your bank or credit card company can provide more info about authorization charges.
Premium Student is valid for up to 12 months from the date you subscribed. When the discount expires, your subscription automatically continues at the standard rate for Premium Individual unless you cancel or apply for another year (with a 4 year limit).
To renew, just go to www.spotify.com/student and either log in to your uni’s portal or upload proof of enrollment.
Once you've renewed, you'll get the discounted rate for another 12 months.
If you go from Premium to Premium Family, your payment date is brought forward to cover the increased subscription cost.
This can look like you’ve been charged twice, but you’ll only be charged on this new payment date in the future. You can check this on your account page, under Your plan.
Last updated: 28 November, 2019