Premium Family

If you’re paying for Premium Family through one of our partners, you won’t see the new plan just yet. It’s coming soon though! You’ll receive an email as soon as it’s available.

Premium Family is a discount subscription for up to 6 family members who live together. 

  • Each member has their own Individual Premium account, so there’s no need to share login details. 
  • Get exclusive access to Family Mix - a playlist based on the tastes of everyone on the plan.
  • Plan managers can control explicit music for members.


Get started

Starting a Premium Family plan makes you the plan’s manager. So, only you can: 

  • Handle payments
  • Set the address
  • Add/remove members
  • Control explicit music

Sign up at www.spotify.com/family.

Note: You can’t pay for Premium Family by mobile, or with another company. If you already pay this way, you first need to cancel and wait for your current Premium to end. 

To join, you must: 

  • Live with the plan’s manager (the person who started the plan).
  • Log into (or sign up for) your own account. 
    Note: The plan’s manager may need to log out first.
  • Enter the correct address. You can use location services if you're at home, or enter it manually.

The Family plan’s manager needs to send you an invite to join. They can do this by logging into their family page at www.spotify.com/account/family. They can also check the address there.

Note: If you already have Premium through another company, you first need to cancel and wait for your current Premium to end.

Manage your Premium Family plan

The plan’s manager (the person who started the plan) can invite or remove members by logging into their Family page at www.spotify.com/account/family

The invitee needs to log into (or sign up for) their own account to open an invite. 

The plan's manager may need to log out first.

You can’t change the manager of a Premium Family plan, but the current manager can cancel. Then, when all accounts go back to free at the next billing date, a new manager can start a new plan.

The plan’s manager (the person who started the plan) can choose to allow or block content marked as explicit for each member of the plan.

If you’re the plan’s manager:

  1. Log in to your Family page.
  2. Choose a member.
  3. Switch Allow explicit content off (gray).

Note: Our explicit tags are based on information we receive from rights-holders. It’s possible some explicit content may not be tagged, so won’t be blocked from playing with these steps. 

See more info about explicit content.

If you move, or the wrong details were entered at signup, the plan’s manager (the person who signed up for the plan) can change the address by logging into their Family page at www.spotify.com/account/family

Existing members may be asked to confirm the new address to continue using the plan.

To cancel or leave a Premium Family plan:

  1. Log in to your subscription page
  2. Select CHANGE OR CANCEL.
  3. Here you can either choose to switch to another Premium plan, or return to the free service.

Need help?

The Family plan’s manager manually enters the plan’s address when they sign up. They can check what they entered by logging into their Family page at www.spotify.com/account/family.

Family plan members need to enter this address to accept an invite. They can use their device’s location services if at home, or enter it manually.

Note: We don’t track your location. We only check your address at the moment you join.

Address not listed?

If your address doesn't autocomplete, enter it manually and select Find

If you still can’t find it, select your building, street name, or a close public space or building.

Note: Don't use someone else's address. 

Each family member needs to log into their own account on their chosen device to listen.

This means everyone gets their own playlists and saved music, and you don’t have to take turns or share login details.

If you can't listen at the same time, someone's logged into the wrong account. They need to log out, then back in using the email address they used to join the plan. 

The plan's manager can check member accounts from their Family page at www.spotify.com/account/family

We only charge the plan’s manager (the person who signed up for the plan), never invited members. We charge the manager the full amount, regardless of if members join.

Already have Premium?

If you already have Premium direct with us, your billing switches automatically - you don’t need to cancel anything.

  • If you’re managing a Family plan, your new payment date will likely be a few days earlier than usual to cover the price difference between Individual and Family Premium.
  • If you’re joining a Family plan, all subsequent payments on your account are made by the plan’s manager. Any remaining Premium time you have is forfeited.

Note: If you already have Premium through another company, you first need to cancel and wait for your current Premium to end.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

Yes! You can use an existing account to join Premium Family, keeping your own saved music and playlists. Other members of the plan also use their own accounts, so you don’t need to share login details.

If you’re joining Family on the same device the plan manager used to invite you, make sure they’ve logged out of their account page first.

Otherwise, the invite link may have expired. Ask the plan’s manager to send you a new link by logging into their Family page at www.spotify.com/account/family.

Still not working? Try opening the link in an incognito/private window of your web browser.

Last updated: 15 October, 2019