Losing access to Premium Family

If someone invited to a Premium Family plan doesn't live at the plan manager’s address or otherwise doesn’t meet the eligibility criteria, they’ll lose access to Premium Family and their account will switch to the free version of Spotify.

Still want Premium?

You can go to www.spotify.com/premium to sign up to Premium Individual, or any other plan you’re eligible for.

Has there been a mistake?

Don’t worry, the invited member can double check their eligibility before their account switches to free:

  1. We sent an email to the invited member with a link to verify their account.
  2. They can enter their full address within 7 days of getting the email. 
  3. We’ll check it and get back to them after 7 days.

If the address of the invited member matches the plan manager’s address, the account will stay on Premium Family.

If we can’t verify it, the invited member's account switches to free. The plan’s manager can re-invite them to try the verification again.

How we use your address

We only check your address at the moment you join Premium Family or re-verify your address. We don’t track your location.

Last updated: 26 November, 2020

Was this article helpful?