Private listening

For your eyes and ears only!

By default, anyone who follows you on Spotify can see what you’re listening to with Friend Activity. If you don’t want others to know what you’re listening to, you can start a Private Session.

Note: Anything you listen to in a Private Session may not influence your music recommendations, e.g. Discover Weekly.

Select your device below to learn how to switch on a Private Session.

  1. Click  in the top right corner of the app.
  2. Select Private Session. A padlock on your profile picture indicates a private session is active.
  3. Repeat the steps to end the Private Session.

Note: The Private Session ends automatically when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Tap Home .
  2. Tap Settings .
  3. Under Social, switch on Private Session.
  4. Repeat the steps to end the Private Session.

Note: The Private Session ends automatically when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity

Last updated: 28 November, 2019