Premium Duo

Premium Duo is the subscription plan for two people living together. Two Premium accounts, for one discounted price!

Plus, you get Duo Mix! A playlist available in each account that matches both tastes. You both can find it on the desktop and mobile apps in Home , under Made For You.

Tip: To create and edit playlists together, check out collaborative playlists.

Get started

You can own a Premium Duo plan and invite another person to it, or you can join someone else’s plan. 

Each member has their own individual Premium account, so there’s no need to share login details. 

Both of you must:

  • Reside at the same address.
  • Meet the minimum age and all other requirements in our Terms and Conditions.

Note: It’s not possible to purchase Premium Duo with a gift card, or combine it with any trials, or offers.

If you start a Premium Duo plan, you’ll be the plan's owner and are responsible for:

  • The plan's monthly payment.
  • Setting the physical address where you both live.
  • Inviting members to the plan.

Sign up to Duo

Note: If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider), you first need to cancel your subscription with them.

  1. Go to the Premium Duo page.
  2. Enter your home address.
    Note: We don’t track your location. We only check your address at this moment.
  3. Check the address and select CONFIRM if correct.
    Note: We’ll ask the person you invite to confirm they live at this address.
  4. Time to invite the other member! Either select COPY LINK and pass it onto them, or choose your preferred messaging service to share that way.

That’s it! Once the other member confirms they live at your address you can start listening together with your own personal accounts. 

To join a Duo plan, you need to reside at the same physical address as the plan’s owner (the person who subscribed to the plan). 

Join a Duo plan

Note: If you're subscribed to Spotify Premium through another company (e.g. your broadband/mobile provider), you first need to cancel your subscription with them.

  1. Have the owner invite you to their plan.
  2. You'll receive a link to join. Open it and select ACCEPT INVITE.
  3. Select LOG IN if you already have an account, or SIGN UP if you’re new to Spotify.
  4. We’ll ask to confirm your location to check that you live at the same address as the plan’s owner. 
    Note: We don’t track your location. We only check your address at this moment.

Manage your Premium Duo plan

Members and plan details can be managed by the plan owner (the person who subscribed to the plan), from their account page, on the Premium Duo tab.

Note: Only the plan owner (the person who subscribed to the plan) can manage members on the plan.

Invite a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. Select Premium Duo in the menu on the left.
  3. Either select COPY LINK and pass it onto the person you’d like to invite, or choose an option to share with your preferred messaging service.
    Note: If the person is accepting the invite on the same device you sent it from, make sure you’ve logged out of your account page first.

Once the other member confirms they live at your address you can start listening together with your own personal accounts. 

Remove a member

  1. Go to your account page.
  2. In the Premium Duo tab, click the member you want to remove.
  3. Confirm that you want to remove this member. 

It's not possible to change the owner of your Premium Duo plan. The current owner would first need to cancel. Then, when both accounts revert to free at the next billing date, a new owner can start a new plan.

If you move, or the wrong details were entered at sign up, the owner of the plan needs to change the address:

Note: Only the owner of the plan can change the address. 

  1. Go to your account page, then the Premium Duo tab.
  2. Under Your address, click CHANGE ADDRESS.
  3. For any existing members of the plan to continue using it, they may be asked to confirm the new address by agreeing to let us access their location. 

To cancel or leave a Premium Duo plan:

  1. Log in to your subscription page
  2. Select CHANGE OR CANCEL.
  3. Here you can either choose to switch to another type of paid subscription such as standard Premium or Premium for Students, or return to the free Spotify service.

Note: If you’re the owner of the plan and choose to return to Spotify free, all other member accounts will revert to free at the end of your current billing cycle. If you choose to switch to another type of Premium, this only affects your account, and other members revert to free.

Need help?

We only charge the owner (the person who subscribed to the plan), never the invited member. 

We charge the owner the full amount, regardless of if another member joins the plan.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

You can listen anywhere. Once we’ve checked you live at the same address, you can both use your Spotify accounts anywhere you want, on any device.

Yes, you can use an existing account to join Duo. All its details will remain the same and your own, including saved music and playlists. Other members of the plan will also use their own personal account for the plan.

What if I already have Premium?

If you’re owning a Duo plan, your payment date will likely be a few days earlier than usual. This is because of the price difference between Premium Duo and standard Premium.

If you’re joining a Duo plan, all subsequent payments on your account are made by the plan owner. Any remaining Premium time you’ve already paid for will be forfeited. There are no refunds available for changing from your current Premium plan.

Whether you’re owning or joining Duo, if you’re already subscribed to Premium through another company (e.g. your mobile/broadband provider or iTunes), you first need to cancel your subscription with them.

You can track all this on your subscription page.

The invite link may have expired. Ask the owner of the plan to send you a new link from their account page, on the Premium Duo tab.

If you’re joining Duo on the same device the plan owner used to invite you, make sure they’ve logged out of their account page first.

Still not working? Try opening the link in an incognito/private window of your web browser.

Last updated: 27 March, 2019