Playlist privacy

You can make any playlist public or secret.

Public playlists show on your profile, and secret playlists don’t.

Note: Secret playlists are still visible if you share them, because recipients can share, play, and follow them. They also show on the playlist followers’ profiles. If the playlist is collaborative, any recipient can also edit the playlist.

Pick your device for how to set your playlist public or secret.

If you have the free version of Spotify, change the privacy settings with the desktop app or web player. The settings will apply to all devices.

For: Premium

  1. Tap  (iOS) /  (Android) at the top of the playlist.
  2. Select Make Public or Make Secret
  1. Right-click the playlist.
  2. Select Make Public or Make Secret

Make playlists secret by default

Playlists you create are public by default, but you can switch this anytime. 

You need the desktop app to set a default, but it applies to all devices.

  1. Click  in the top-right and select Settings.
  2. Under Social, switch off/on Automatically make new playlists public.

Last updated: 22 April, 2021

Was this article helpful?