Spotify Connect

With Spotify Connect, you can listen on speakers, TVs, and other devices using the Spotify app as a remote.

Check out Spotify Everywhere for compatible devices. If you don’t see yours there, you can check with the manufacturer.

Get started

First, make sure:

  • All devices are on the same WiFi network.
  • Your Spotify app is up-to-date.
  • All devices’ software is up-to-date. If you don't know, check with your devices' manufacturers for how to update the version software. 

Now, select the device your app is on: 

  1. Open Spotify and play something.
  2. Click Connect to a device  in the bottom-right.
  3. Select the device you'd like to play on.

Note: If you pause for more than 10 minutes you may need to reconnect.

  1. Open Spotify and play something.
  2. Tap Devices Available at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Tap the device you want to play to.

Note: If you pause for more than 10 minutes you may need to reconnect.

Not seeing the device you want in the device list?

Try switching off the Show local devices only setting. This means your app will try to find nearby devices that aren’t on the same internet connection as you. Here's how:

  1. Tap Home .
  2. Tap Settings .
  3. Tap Devices.
  4. Switch off Show local devices only and try Connect again.

For more help connecting Spotify to different devices, check out:

Connect with friends

For: Premium on mobile.

Collaborate and listen! Use Connect with friends to control what’s playing on a friend’s device, or have your friend control what’s playing on yours.

  1. Open Spotify and play something.
  2. Tap Devices Available  in the bottom of the screen.
  3. Find the sharing code under Connect with friends
  4. Your friend can now scan this code from their device:
    1. Tap Search .
    2. Tap the camera .
      Note: You need to allow Spotify access to your camera if you haven’t already.
    3. Point the camera at the code.
  5. Your friend can now control what plays on your device from theirs!

To leave a collaborative session, tap LEAVE under Connect with friends. If the music’s playing from your device, this will end the collaborative session and stop everyone else from controlling playback on your device.

Last updated: 17 July, 2019