Private listening

By default, anyone who follows you on Spotify can see what you’re listening to with Friend Activity.

If you don’t want others to know what you’re listening to, you can start a Private Session.

Note: Anything you listen to in a Private Session may not influence your music recommendations, e.g. Discover Weekly.

Pick your device for how to switch Private Session on and off.
 

  1. Tap Home .
  2. Tap Settings .
  3. Under Social, switch Private Session on .

To end a Private Session, repeat the steps and switch it off.

The Private Session ends automatically when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Click  in the top-right.
  2. Click Private Session.

A padlock on your profile picture means the private session is active.

To end a Private Session, repeat the steps and switch it off.

The Private Session ends automatically when you restart Spotify, or after a long period of inactivity.

Last updated: 13 August, 2021

Was this article helpful?